Lily Kelly

Student Services - Literacy

About Me

My name is Marie L. Kelly, better known as Lily. For the first six years of my life, I had no idea Lily was my nickname. It was not until my first day of school when I got into an argument with the principal about my name. And then at lunch time my parents told me about my nickname and where it came from. Apparently, my Dad got a call at his workplace about this argument.

I am orginally from Fort Good Hope, the seventh child of eleven kids. I consider myself unique because of ten of us, I am the only one who did not attend Residential School. I say ten because I lost a baby brother to a deadly disease.

I attended school only in Fort Good Hope and took correspondence for another few years. Later on in years I attended Adult Ed. and then applied and attended college in Fort Smith, up-grading myself and then taking the Teachers Program, ACTE.

I have taught nearly all grade with the exception of Grade Two. My best years of teaching was in Fort Good Hope in a class of 22 Grade Ones. The majority of my subjects came from Dene Kede, and we had so much fun learning with hands-on activites. I now teach Jr. and Sr. High subjects and am loving what I do with my students.

I moved to Deline in 1999 with the intentions of moving from school to school but got stuck here. It started with my former Grade 8/9 students asking me to stay, and then later the elders asked me to stay longer. So here I am, on my 15th year in Deline.


NWT Schools

SAHTU Divisional Education Council
Chief Albert Wright
Chief T'Selehye School
Colville Lake School
Ehtseo Ayha School
Mackenzie Mountain School
Yellowknife Education District #1
Information Technology
École J.H. Sissons School
K'alemi Dene School
Kaw Tay Whee School
Mildred Hall School
N.J. Macpherson School
Range Lake North School
École Sir John Franklin High School
École Willliam McDonald Middle School
Yellowknife Catholic Schools
Kimberlite Career & Technical
École St. Joseph School
École St. Patrick School
Weledeh Catholic School
Tlicho Community Services Agency
Commission Scolaire Francophone
École Allain St-Cyr
École Boréale
Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council
Angik School
Chief Julius School
Chief Paul Niditchie School
Helen Kalvak School
Inualthuyak School
Mangilaluk School
Moose Kerr School
East Three Elementary School
East Three Secondary School
Dehcho Divisional Education Council
Bompas Elementary School
Echo Dene School
Kakisa Lake School
Louie Norwegian School
Chief Julian Yendo
Charles Tetcho School
Charles Yohin School
Deh Gah Elementary School
Thomas Simpson Secondary School
South Slave Divisional Education Council
Paul W. Kaeser High School
Deninu School
Diamond Jenness Secondary School
Harry Camsell School
Joseph Burr Tyrrell Elementary School
Lutsel K'e Dene School
Princess Alexandra School