The perfect formula! - Imperial and SDEC

Rosetta Gully (left), Hunter Edgi (middle), and Ezra Kakfwi, with teacher, Leslie Campbell.Rosetta Gully (left), Hunter Edgi (middle), and Ezra Kakfwi, with teacher, Leslie Campbell.








Here we see some Sahtu students  recording their math and science findings in their math journals. Rosetta Gully (left), Hunter Edgi (middle), and Ezra Kakfwi are exploring the weight of objects using a balance scale. Grade 1 / 2 teacher, Leslie Campbell, guides students to sort and arrange their findings so that items are recorded from lightest to heaviest. Hands-on experiential learning makes math a lot of fun and students are encouraged to make the connections between math and the real world!


Imperial’s Norman Wells operation announces $50,000 in funding for the Sahtu Divisional Education Council’s Science & Math Initiative.

A recent decision by Imperial’s Norman Wells operation to support the Sahtu Divisional Education Council’s Science & Math Initiative wasn’t very difficult. What can be difficult is teaching complex science and math lessons to students. That’s why the Sahtu Divisional Education Council has created the Science & Math Initiative. 



NWT Schools

SAHTU Divisional Education Council
Chief Albert Wright
Chief T'Selehye School
Colville Lake School
Ehtseo Ayha School
Mackenzie Mountain School
Yellowknife Education District #1
Information Technology
École J.H. Sissons School
K'alemi Dene School
Kaw Tay Whee School
Mildred Hall School
N.J. Macpherson School
Range Lake North School
École Sir John Franklin High School
École Willliam McDonald Middle School
Yellowknife Catholic Schools
Kimberlite Career & Technical
École St. Joseph School
École St. Patrick School
Weledeh Catholic School
Tlicho Community Services Agency
Commission Scolaire Francophone
École Allain St-Cyr
École Boréale
Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council
Angik School
Chief Julius School
Chief Paul Niditchie School
Helen Kalvak School
Inualthuyak School
Mangilaluk School
Moose Kerr School
East Three Elementary School
East Three Secondary School
Dehcho Divisional Education Council
Bompas Elementary School
Echo Dene School
Kakisa Lake School
Louie Norwegian School
Chief Julian Yendo
Charles Tetcho School
Charles Yohin School
Deh Gah Elementary School
Thomas Simpson Secondary School
South Slave Divisional Education Council
Paul W. Kaeser High School
Deninu School
Diamond Jenness Secondary School
Harry Camsell School
Joseph Burr Tyrrell Elementary School
Lutsel K'e Dene School
Princess Alexandra School