Yellowknife student wins $100K scholarship

 Emma Willoughby of Sir John Franklin High School is a recipient of a $100,000 undergraduate scholarship. Submitted photo Emma Willoughby of Sir John Franklin High School is a recipient of a $100,000 undergraduate scholarship. Submitted photo

A Yellowknife high school student has won a prestigious $100,000 scholarship for undergraduate studies.

Emma Willoughby of Ecole Sir John Franklin High School is one of 35 students chosen from over 5,000 applicants across Canada to become Loran Scholars.

Marketing manager Kylie Serebrin says Willoughby was selected based on her character, leadership potential and community involvement.

“Our interviewers selected 35 Loran Scholars from across Canada based on evidence of character, commitment to service in the community and long-term leadership potential.”

The Loran Award’s total value is $100,000 over the course of four years of undergraduate studies. It includes an annual stipend of $10,000, tuition waivers, mentorship and funding for summer internships.



NWT Schools

SAHTU Divisional Education Council
Chief Albert Wright
Chief T'Selehye School
Colville Lake School
Ehtseo Ayha School
Mackenzie Mountain School
Yellowknife Education District #1
Information Technology
École J.H. Sissons School
K'alemi Dene School
Kaw Tay Whee School
Mildred Hall School
N.J. Macpherson School
Range Lake North School
École Sir John Franklin High School
École Willliam McDonald Middle School
Yellowknife Catholic Schools
Kimberlite Career & Technical
École St. Joseph School
École St. Patrick School
Weledeh Catholic School
Tlicho Community Services Agency
Commission Scolaire Francophone
École Allain St-Cyr
École Boréale
Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council
Angik School
Chief Julius School
Chief Paul Niditchie School
Helen Kalvak School
Inualthuyak School
Mangilaluk School
Moose Kerr School
East Three Elementary School
East Three Secondary School
Dehcho Divisional Education Council
Bompas Elementary School
Echo Dene School
Kakisa Lake School
Louie Norwegian School
Chief Julian Yendo
Charles Tetcho School
Charles Yohin School
Deh Gah Elementary School
Thomas Simpson Secondary School
South Slave Divisional Education Council
Paul W. Kaeser High School
Deninu School
Diamond Jenness Secondary School
Harry Camsell School
Joseph Burr Tyrrell Elementary School
Lutsel K'e Dene School
Princess Alexandra School