Turning ‘screen time’ into a positive in the far North with an online library app

Sahtu educational council counters geographical challenges through digital library services

The Sahtu region of Canada’s Northwest Territories faces a unique challenge. For a remote region encompassing five towns and a total population of roughly 2,450, how do you get books to your students that don’t cost an arm and a leg?

Enter the OverDrive app, a digital e-book service that works with libraries, schools, and publishers—and is set to solve geographical barriers to access for the Sahtu Divisional Education Council.

“With OverDrive, we’re able to purchase digital copies of books that are available for students to sign out immediately,” says Wanda Quigg, school programs consultant for the education council.

read more at: embridge.com      


NWT Schools

SAHTU Divisional Education Council
Chief Albert Wright
Chief T'Selehye School
Colville Lake School
Ehtseo Ayha School
Mackenzie Mountain School
Yellowknife Education District #1
Information Technology
École J.H. Sissons School
K'alemi Dene School
Kaw Tay Whee School
Mildred Hall School
N.J. Macpherson School
Range Lake North School
École Sir John Franklin High School
École Willliam McDonald Middle School
Yellowknife Catholic Schools
Kimberlite Career & Technical
École St. Joseph School
École St. Patrick School
Weledeh Catholic School
Tlicho Community Services Agency
Commission Scolaire Francophone
École Allain St-Cyr
École Boréale
Beaufort Delta Divisional Education Council
Angik School
Chief Julius School
Chief Paul Niditchie School
Helen Kalvak School
Inualthuyak School
Mangilaluk School
Moose Kerr School
East Three Elementary School
East Three Secondary School
Dehcho Divisional Education Council
Bompas Elementary School
Echo Dene School
Kakisa Lake School
Louie Norwegian School
Chief Julian Yendo
Charles Tetcho School
Charles Yohin School
Deh Gah Elementary School
Thomas Simpson Secondary School
South Slave Divisional Education Council
Paul W. Kaeser High School
Deninu School
Diamond Jenness Secondary School
Harry Camsell School
Joseph Burr Tyrrell Elementary School
Lutsel K'e Dene School
Princess Alexandra School